Tube flaws visible through finished pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dakcrew

I have been running around this site for a couple of years gathering great ideas and marveling at how talented many of the people here are! I tried to make a segmented pen over the weekend out of Koa/aluminum/and acrylic. the pen turned out beautiful except for one flaw.... there is sawdust mixed with the clue between the tube and the blank. I wouldn't mind so much, but it can be seen through the clear parts of the acrylic! ruined a great segmenting attempt:at-wits-end:

Anyway, I was thinking that with all of the great expertise in these parts that someone might have an idea on how to salvage this?

Thanks in advance for any and all thoughts.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Lenny

Did you paint the tube before gluing it in the blank?
The brass will show through most of the acrylics/polyresin blanks. Painting the tubes or reverse painting the blank will minimize that problem and can provide drastic differences in how the finished pen will look. Generally painting white will brighten the blank, painting black will intensify the color. Different colors can have different effects. I will sometimes mix a little dab of the paint in with the epoxy when gluing as well. hth

Ed McDonnell

If you really want to salvage it, here's something you can try:

1) Cast your blank in clear resin (type doesn't matter).

2) Mount the blank between centers and turn a large cylinder that you can mount on the lathe in a good chuck (collet would be best, but something with minimal runout). The clear resin cylinder is intended to hold things together for the next step. You want the OD as concentric with the brass tube as possible.

3) Mount the blank in the chuck on the lathe and drill out the brass tube.

4) If you survived step 3, then paint the hole and glue in a new brass tube.

5) Turn your blank back to shape by turning off the clear resin.