tube/blank bonding

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

el_chupo_

I am a beginner. I have about a dozen pens done, a variety of kits. Been really digging cocobolo (some premade blanks, some pieces I bought from local store to cut down into blanks), and I have had generally good luck with this wood, though a couple of blowouts in the past.

I havent really settled on my best tools for the job, so I used a mix of HSS spindle gouge and an Easy Wood tools Easy Start rougher (square) if it matters.

I was trying to turn a pen for my grandpa and ordered some stabilized spalted pecan from Amazon. A bit crooked of a blank, but I got a hole drilled and glued in a tube for a single tube pen (long clicker, as he likes click pens). As I was turning the first I had a blowout, so I put it aside to see if I might try to salvage something in the future.

Second pen blank I cut down for a simple slim style, as I figured that was my best shot at success. drilled, glued in a blank. Was using a CA glue, but apparently I didnt wait long enough and the tube actually shifted slightly in the blank on one end, so that one was ruined too.

None of these were special blanks, but I realized that I was probably short-changing myself by not sticking with a single glue setup and knowing it worked. Also sucks to have wasted $20 in blanks this morning...

I seem to have had the best luck with 5 minute Barrel Bond epoxy. BUT... I seem to be sometimes impatient in waiting, so I have also experimented with CA glues. I have used Stickfast and Star Bond (I think), and recently Dap Rapid Fuse

I believe that my own inconsistencies are part of the problem, so I know I need to figure out a solution or two, and just stick with those.

I have been reading and it seems like many like epoxy, CA, or Poly glue like Gorilla glue.

What will be my best options for a variety of woods (full spectrum), stabilized, and occasionally acrylic/hybrid blanks?