TRYING TO TURN AGAIN

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Drcal

I had been turning for about 20 years off and on...all small stuff, mostly pens. I have never loved a hobby more. I was addicted. Then I developed a very serious, life-altering back problem and quit--then bought a small lathe and built a sit-down set up for it but it never worked for me. It just was not comfortable...probably because I am only 5 foot tall.

I know the lathes that are on the market made for sitting down and they are a lot more than I want to spend.

I am now thinking that many I could JUST DO pens and NOTHING ELSE. I am wondering if there is a quality TINY lathe- maybe a metal lathe, even, that I can buy and make a stand that would almost put it in my lap for turning. I have checked out the Penn Sate pen lathe and it is not the solid quality that I want.

Any ideas?

Carmen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
Taig makes a micro lathe that is just the right for pens. I have an older one that I rarely use anymore, but the newer ones have lots more ability. Even the early ones were solid. I turned pens for about 1 1/2 years until I got a Rikon. You have to research and find the right fittings but turning pens on the Taig is easy.

Taig Tools - Desktop Milling Machines and Lathes.

TonyW

Hello Carmen,

I'm still having treatment on my back, following a fall that I had many years ago, so I know something of what you must be going through. I'm now on first name terms with the staff at my local hospital though, so I might even get a Christmas card from them this year!