Trying to start closed end pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ZanderPommo

Well even though I've been turning for several years now I've never tried a closed end pen, and now I would like to. I have to admit, Wiset's recent mexican agate pen was the straw that broke the camels back haha.

So whats the minimum I will need? Some type of collet chuck and a closed end mandrel??

Thank you all in advance

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jjudge

easiest way = buy premade mandrels for Baron/Sedona cap, body; or for El Grande/Churchill cap, body from Arizona Silhouette.

E.g., get the body mandrel ... use the coupler; make cap normally. There you go: closed end body pen.

Harder way? make a chuck (concrete anchor, pin chuck, etc.)

Haynie

I started with the IAP library. A lot of info just waiting to tempt you into getting way over your head.

spend the $20 or so bucks and buy pre made mandrels for Baron/Sedona cap, body; or for El Grande/Churchill cap, body from Arizona Silhouette, like mentioned above. I have made dozens of pens using mine. Be sure not to over tighten or you may break it, though I have not broken mine yet.

monophoto

I've done a couple of closed-end fountain pens.