Trying to get Started???

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

jtalbert

I have been trying to get started turning some pens. At this point I am brand new at pen turning, but have turned a few other items in the past.

I posting some pictures along with questions if you have time to look and maybe give some advise It would sure be welcome.

I'm using a table saw and cross sled to cut my 3/4 by 3/4 blanks to size. This seems to take quiet a bit of time to set up, but works good.

20071117164451_671023527110_0_ALB.jpg

I made myself a vice to hold the blanks to drill from a cross vise I got from harbor freight. This may not be the best idea as the drill bit is drifting to the left. I think the vice is holding the blank ok but for some reason its drifting. Any help here?

20071117164720_471023527110_0_ALB.jpg

20071117165018_588853527110_0_ALB.jpg

Im using a ShopFox mini lathe to do the turning, and Im sure at some point I will need to upgrade this. Im also using a old set of knives I had when I was working with a Shopsmith, and they are in good shape.

2007111716490_698853527110_0_ALB.jpg

I am going to try and use a 12 disc sander to square the ends, and make myself a jig to get it square Still working on this.

I turned this maple blank just to see if I could and here is how it came out. Not exactly uniform but close. I'll have to get better.

2007111716525_419853527110_0_ALB.jpg

Anyway, that is where I am at this point. I have some slimline pen kits on the way and I'll just have to see what happens

Thanks for all the good information I have gotten from this forum

JT

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

fuzzydog