TruStone

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mattmck

Quote from Top Gun: "Your mouth is writing checks that your body can't cash". This may apply to me.

I was visiting a customer (ala my REAL job) and he took a shine to my new Jr Statesman II in Antique Black/Gold Acrylic. This guy is a real history buff/American Indian collector, etc. He asked me if I could make a pen for him out of petrified wood he picked up somewhere along the way. That got me talking about TruStone, a material that I have never turned, EVER.. Shortly after my brilliant sales pitch (that's what I do for a living), I was walking out with an order for 3 Tru-Stone Statesman Rollerballs (turquoise, Lapis, and Jasper). Yipee!! Oh Crap!!

I have searched this fine forum and found some scary posts regarding trustone, but also a fine photo of a successful endeavor by CSU's own Nils.

I started this thread in hopes that others might learn from my 'mouth shootoffery', or maybe even learn from the mistakes of others on how to turn this stuff. (oh, and that I might be able to crank these guys out without too much mayhem)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
Matt,

I have turned the TruStone material, (sorry no pix)and had no real problems. The only one I used was the Turquoise, and I did notice if you were making a small pen that most of the figuring turned away, leaving a rather plain blue. Perhaps it was just the one blank I had, I can't say.

Sharp tools, light cuts, wet sand, finish with plastic polish, and a coat or two of TSW would be my advice for what it is worth.

BTW, good job on the sales.

JimGo