Tru-stone

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

moke

I turned a Truestone Dino-bone blank last night to go on a Broadwell pen last night. Realizing that I am not that experienced with different materials.....is it just me or is that like turning a rock? I have turned the white trustone and it was not bad at all, but this was very hard. I thought I might use my my whole skew as many times as I shapened it. I could not really get ribbons going...am I doing something wrong?

Also--on the Photochromic blanks, after I get them turned they look somewhat enemic, the colors are not very vibrant, I am painting the tubes white, is that wrong? Should I be using black or green for green etc?
Mike aka Moke

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JBCustomPens

I can't help with the photochromatic, maybe Wolftat can.

Tru stone is very hard, and some are harder than others. Like dino bone is hard that the marble. It is pretty normal to have to sharpen a lot.

Mapster

Keep to it is my advise. Tru-stones are tough at times, and require lots of time. Keep it sharp and keep working. Depending on the type of tool you have, an upgrade might be the way to go.

Like mapster said above, you may want to upgrade tools. I switched to the woodchuck with a carbide cutter and truestone cuts clean and quick.

moke

Mapster--Ken----
Thanks for the advice. I will stay with it especially since I bought a half a dozen trustone blanks. LOL

I hate to sound ignorant, I see the woodchuck in various sites and it seems like it either has no handle or a really short handle. Can you recommend a place where I can get one for a resonable price with a long handle? Also how long do those inserts last? I didn't know if that was an issue. Should I buy a lot of extras or just one? If you have anyother advice about buying one, please let me know that too.
Thanks
Mike aka Moke

bgibb42

.....is it just me or is that like turning a rock?