Tripoli/White Diamond

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TXTurner

Question - if I'm using the micromesh to 12000, do I still need to use tripoli, or can I get by with White Diamond only?

Mark

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

karlkuehn

Banned
I only use white diamond if you take it that far with the MM, and some will probably say you don't even need to take the MM that far. I'm still learning the limits of buffing, and I'm probably doing a bunch of extra work. Lately, when I know I'm going to polish on the wheel, I've been getting a little sloppi...er, uh, less fastidious with the MM after about 4K, and they're still turning out really good.

I just used tripoli for the first time last night on one of my new tool handles, and was surprised at how easy it was to get a pretty good finish without burning through.

The more I buff, the more I like it! I think as I get better at it, I'm going to save a lot of time, but I get a little frustrated when the wheel gets 'grabby'. Practice is teaching me the good angles and sweet spots and pressure and stuff, though.

BrentK

I use the MM and use my buffing wheel sometimes not everytime. After MM I finish with CA and BLO four coats. Than ren wax. Or I break out the buffing wheel and go through all four steps than ren wax.

rherrell

I don't use MM for CA. I sand to 600 then tripoli and WD. I do use it, on wood, before applying the CA. Sand to 400, apply sanding sealer, MM to 12,000, apply CA.

redfishsc

Originally posted by TXTurner

Question - if I'm using the micromesh to 12000, do I still need to use tripoli, or can I get by with White Diamond only?

Mark

rherrell is right.