Trimming Blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

snowb46

I'm fairly new to the art, have turned about a dozen pens so far. My most recent issue is with trimming. I thought I bought a good blank trimmer (carbide from PSI) but have ruined 4-5 pen blanks thus far.

Some have been the plastic, last two were wood. While feeding the blank into the trimmer, it all of a sudden grabs the blank and splits/chips beyond use.

I've tried speeding up/down the drill press, feeding slower. And here I am again with a ruined blank. I've been thinking about switching to a disc sanding method, and did see someones recent post on flipping around the head on the trimmer and placing a small piece of sand paper like a mini-mini disc sander.

All that aside, does anyone else have problems with their PSI carbide trimmer? :cool:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RDH79

I dont like using a barrel trimmer on the drill press. You can not control the speed . I use my trimmer on a vs hand drill. That way you can slowly start off and hit the blank slow. I have caught a couple when i was in a hurry . Then after turning the blank I will use the disk sander and a jig i made from the miter gauge. This removes the ca and resquares up the ends.

keithkarl2007

I haven't tried it but I think trimming with a pin chuck on the lathe would be a good idea. The use of sandpaper on the mills I think is only used to sand the ends of the finished barrel to remove any finish, CA, that may be on the end of the tube. If you were to try and sand down flush with a sanding mill the heat created could form cracks in time especially with ebony and snakewood.

Lenny