Traditional skew vs Rockler carbide mini

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ramaroodle

I read about people saying that I should learn how to properly use the skew for pen turning as it gives the smoothest finish. I've been using my Rockler mini carbide set and have had good results using the square radius tip.
8Pj7jynm.jpg

Will I get better results if I learn to master the skew or just stick to mastering the tool I'm using?

Inquiring minds want to know! :)

kingkeyman

You will absolutely get better results with a skew. You will also need to learn how to keep a sharp edge on your skew. I sometimes need to hone my skew two or three times on one pen, but I can go straight to micromesh without sanding. Most people I know would rather use carbide and sandpaper.

Chief TomaToe

I am a beginner penturner who also uses the Rockler square radius cutter, and I also use their round cutter tool too. I started out turning with the roughing gouge and skew, and I was starting to get the hang of it - until I realized they needed to be sharpened! One day, I would love to master the skew and get all the gear needed for tool sharpening (and master that too), but right now I am strapped for space and funds for turning. I simply said, "forget it," and went straight for the carbide tools.

To be honest, it's very forgiving for a beginner like me, but I get pretty decent results too. I'll shape with the round tool, and then go over the blank very lightly with the square radius at the very end. Using that technique gives me a smooth enough finish that I can skip a number of grits of sandpaper.

I belive the best results will come via the skew, but for the time being, I'm happy with the carbide. One day I'll set my sights on the sharpening equipment and pick up the skew, but I've realized I can likely conquer most pen projects with the carbide.

ramaroodle