Total newby

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dan S

Good evening,
I'm going to try pen turning for the first time and I'd like a bit of advice if you would be so kind. Can you tell me what I need to get started. I have a good lathe with a four jaw chuck, drill press and just about any other tool I need for general woodwork. I even have some pen making supplies that I found at a thrift store (tubes, wood etc). Is there a good online instructional video or something for folks like me?

Thank you,
Dan Slater

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kovalcik

Here is a link to a great tutorial. It helped me a lot. Focus on topics 1, 2, and 3 for now. They deal with the slimline pen but are relevant to just about any other kit you would buy. As mentioned above, the library also has a lot of good articles worth a look.

http://www.woodturnerruss.com/Pen10.html

As far as kits, the slimlines are cheap and very adaptable. That is where I started. You can have a lot of fun, be creative, and if it blows up on you, no big loss. I bought a 10 pack and some spare tubes and bushings to get started, along with a bunch of cheap straight grain blanks. For finish, if you want to start easy go with one of the friction polishes. It gives you a nice finish off the lathe. Not as durable as a CA finish, but is quick and easy. Hut crystal clear or Mylands are brands I have used and are for sale at my local Woodcraft.

As far as tools, the only real specialty items you will need are a mandrel and a pen mill for squaring the ends of your blanks. You also want sandpaper in grits at least up to 600. I have 150, 240, 320, 400, and 600 on hand, plus Micromesh pads. I did buy a pen vise for drilling blanks on a drill press, but you can use a wooden clamp to get started or drill them on the lathe.

Most of all have fun and practice (a lot). Just be careful, it is very addicting.

Last edited: