Tormek

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Celt40

I am thinking of buying a Tormek wet grind system. I have noticed that there are a number of systems available. I would be interested in what other members that have this system have to say about it.
What is the best package to get, i need it to sharpen Roughing gouge, Bowl gouge, Spindle gouge and Skews.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wolfdancer

Banned
Hello Dermot
I have had one for going on ten years and use it alot. I have never had a problem. The wheels last forever and I turn and sell wood for a living. All I have ever had to do is just keep the stone true and thats easy to do. There are lots of extras and there easy to get. I dont know anything on the others but I am sure that there good also.

arjudy

I have a Tormek. It is very good for sharpening. If you want to get into reshaping the tools you will also want a dry grinder to remove metal fast. The Tormek is definitely a good sharpening system.

BruceA

Dermot,
Here's a synopsis of what I've learned researching this very topic over the last week or so:
There are primarily 4 slow speed wet grinders that have been mentioned repeatedly here on the forum:
- Tormek T-7 ($499. USD on Amazon)
- Jet Wet Sharpener ($293. USD on Amazon)
- Grizzly T10010 ($169. USD)
- Sheppach Tiger 2500 (@$139 US.)

The Tormek Accessories are reportedly superior to the Jet or Grizzly jigs for grinding. The Tormek jigs fit on the Jet and Grizzly units. Not sure about the Sheppach for jig compatibility.

Here is a link for a comparison on the Tormek and the Jet.
http://www.newwoodworker.com/reviews/jettormekcomparo.html

The Tormek SVS-50 Multi jig is supposed to be great for skews.
Also the TTS-100 Turning Tool Setter jig for setting the grind angle.

As a disclaimer, I haven't purchased anything yet, so the above is for reference only.

great12b4ever