Top 5 beginner mistakes in making pens?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

MrDave

Top 5 beginner mistakes in making pens?

I am a beginner and have enjoyed reading a lot on the forums. I ask this question because after reading a lot on this forum one of the mistakes is to tighten down the knurl knob on the mandrel to tight. What are some of the mistakes when you started turning pens? I know some of you have been at this for so long you will have to think pretty hard. I am sure it has been a lot of moons (pens) ago.

Dario

1. Using a dull tool/Not sharpening enough/Not learning how to sharpen correctly, right away.
2. Not buying the best tools I can get (ended up buying several times)
3. Tyring to produce quantity (rather than quality)
4. Trying to re-invent the wheel (it can get very costly)
5. Not learning/using the best finish right away

cd18524

In no particular order;

1. Dull tools.
2. Mandrel nut to tight.
3. To much pressure on live center.
4. Not using a skew.
5. To much pressure when sanding.

Chris

Rojo22

Local Chapter Leader
I would agree with Dario on the number one issue. Learn what sharp is, and then sharpen some more. Dull tools are no fun, and will never get you what you want.

The second item would be to get with a mentor and learn from them. Most turners are more than happy to share with you their tricks, tips and experience. Find a turning club near you, you already have us to ask "virtually" anytime!

Have fun and learn. Dont get burned out too quickly, just have fun!

Take lots of pictures, even of the stuff that doesnt turn out nice. You can laugh at it later when you have a bad turning day, and you can guage your progress along the way.

SLOW DOWN the speed of the lathe when you sand! Heat is the enemy of both plastic and some woods!

Rifleman1776

1] Buying a lathe.
2] Not attending PTA regularly.
3] Spending every waking hour scrounging beautiful wood.