Tools Questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

fshenkin94

I am new to turning and have a few questions about tools. When looking at purchasing tools which type of steel is better?
I'd also like some suggestions on tool storage. I was thinking of putting up a wood shelf and drilling holes in it to hang the tools from. What do you think?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

lkorn

Welcome to turning and the IAP.

Inexpensive steel tools will do the job. Harbor Freight has a set of turning tools for about $40.00 or so. THey are excellent tools. As you gain experience tools marked 'HSS', or High Speed Steel are higher quality, but more importantly hold an edge longer so that you get more working time from each sharpening. Then there are the 'M2' and even higher grades. Dont worry about them yet, learn the craft and your needs will become apparent to you.

As to storage, I use PVC pipe so that the edges are covered preventing accidental cuts. Always think about shop safety, even for tool storage.

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
I have a set of the HF turning tools that go on sale for $10.00.
I think that makes each chisel about $1.40.
I hone with a diamond stone or occaisionally my bench sander, all by eye.
The wood I turn doesn't seem to know the difference.
Save your money for kits and blanks.
As for storage, I bought one of those plasic gizmos for holding screwdrivers and such,I think it hold 50 tools,I paid less than $5.00 at Homier for it.
I screwed it to the side of a table I keep next to the lathe.
Nothing has to be fancy or expensive.
I also use "cheap" carving tools I buy at HF, about $5.00 a set of 8.
Carbon steel and I grind any profile I want.
They beat the pants off those fancy"pen turning" chisels that the suppliers rip you off for.

Scott

Hi Fred,