Tools on acrylics

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fay Prozora

I have a beautiful blue acrylic pen on the lathe and I was wondering what tools are y-alls using to get it in the round? Mine is taking forever to get it done. I have been working for the past couple of hours and it is going a bit too slow. I tried the skew and the spindle gouge and none of those are doing very well. I do stop to sharpen the tools but I don't have a clue what I'm doing wrong! This is my first time trying the acrylics. Maybe I should stay with the wood. I'm getting a bit discouraged on the acrylics. Thanks in advance Fay

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dan Masshardt

What kind of acrylic specifically? I use all the same tools but my favs for square to round are large continental type spindle gouge and carbide tools. Often a combination of the two.

turncrazy43

If you have a belt sander/disc sander use it to knock the corners down and then your tools should have an easier time and less chance of a blow up. Also, might consider a carbide cutter tool with an R2 cutter.

Fay Prozora

Thanks every one I will give the sander another try and then I will try it again. It is acrylic pen blanks that I bought from Rockler. I might consider a carbide cutter and there is a set of them for sale on a couple of sites. So I may go have a look.. Thanks again. Fay

mchech

Lately I've been using 2 hss tools and leaving my carbide tools alone for the plastics. Most of my turning is with a Packard 1/2" roughing gouge. It gets it's edge freshed up on every blank with a 180 grit cbn wheel. Then I fine tune the shape with a negative rake scraper I made from a small 1/2" curved skew chisel. I got lucky with several inlace acrylester pen projects with this combo so I just stuck with it.

Attachments

• P7250002.jpg
    P7250002.jpg
    310.4 KB · Views: 193

Jim Burr

Banned