tool of choice ?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

polarbear1

I have only been turning pens since December, and have probably turned over 300. When I first took a pen turning class at woodcraft last December we made our slimline using only a roughing gouge. Which is the only tool I owned for a long time, a few months ago I made my first bowl and bought a bowl gouge and scraper. But on this forum I noticed someone makes the acrylic pens using only a rasp, which makes sense but I have not tried that yet. Someone else said they use predominately a scraper for pens. I went to a local woodturners meeting and a few there said the best tool for acrylic pens is a skew, I don't even own a skew. What is your main tool of choice for both wood and acrylic pens?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

schak3536

I, too, have been turning pens for only about 6 months, following a Woodcraft class in January. Several weeks ago I graduated from a spindle gouge to an Alan Lacer 5/8" skew. Though it took a little practice to learn the various cuts, I can say it is now my tool of choice for pens. The Alan Lacer video on using the skew was extremely helpful as well.

KT

mdburn_em

I think the question has been asked a couple times. Here are a couple of links that may give you some information.
http://www.penturners.org/forum/topic.asp?ARCHIVE=true&TOPIC_ID=65&SearchTerms=tool,of,choice
and then
http://www.penturners.org/forum/topic.asp?ARCHIVE=true&TOPIC_ID=15563&SearchTerms=tool,of,choice

Winchester, Hampshire. SO22 5LB, United Kingdom.
Good morning Polarbear.