Took the time to fix nagging issue

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tbfoto

I've been using the same lathe for many years now and I use it 98% of the time to turn pens. Taking the tool rest on and off to sand the blanks always requires re-adjusting the tool rest height when returning it to the lathe. I seem to always have to shut off a couple times to adjust the height of it. Not a big issue but tonight I decided to "fix" the issue. Took a piece of UHMW material and drilled it to fit the post then turned it into a "spacer" to fit on my tool rest post. Now when I remount it to the lathe it is the perfect height every time. Simply, easy, cheap and works. Should have done it a long time ago.

Attachments

• IMG_2525 (Medium).JPG
    IMG_2525 (Medium).JPG
    90.9 KB · Views: 202
  • IMG_2526 (Medium).JPG
    IMG_2526 (Medium).JPG
    133.3 KB · Views: 138
  • IMG_2527 (Medium).JPG
    IMG_2527 (Medium).JPG
    88.2 KB · Views: 238
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Skie_M

Good fix!

Wish I could fix my lathe's banjo toolrest height issue .....

Mine sits a tad too high for me to be comfortable up close with some of my tools, especially my carbide bit cutter (it sits up an extra half inch or so), so when using carbide my toolrest is usually 2 to 2 and a half inches away from the work and I'm aiming it down towards the center point...

plantman

Great idea to fix your tool rest problem !! I also noticed a difference in height when I went to use my new Ultra interchangeable tip carbide chisel on my mini lathe as I was turning some acorns for Christmas the other day. The new carbide chisel edges sit about a 1/4" to 3/8" higher that a standard chisel. Not a big deal on a larger turning, but quite noticeable on a pen or acorn !! Jim S

Last edited:

Rockytime

Good fix!

Wish I could fix my lathe's banjo toolrest height issue .....