tired of slimlines need advce

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck B

Guy's I have a question I've done a few slimlines & I would like to do something a little beefier? thicker. I do like the twist type pens. Any advice on what type to get & where to get them?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dolphinjon

I'm still pretty new at this, but I've tried a lot of the less expensive kits. I originally learned to turn European and slimlines and I still like both, but I've really learned to like cigar pens. My dad really pushed me to make some so he could have some big pens to write with and we both really like them. In addition, out of all the pens I've sold, which granted are not too many, cigars are about the most popular. Plus I really like the parker style refil they take. It seems to write much more smoothly than the cross refill.
Oh, and I just started turning Barons. If you want a nice roller ball kit with a screw cap, it's the tops! Plus, the chrome plated Baron kits aren't that pricy.
Oh, and I've orderd from both Arizona Silhouette and CSUSA and both had great customer service. I've orderd from PSI, but they took foreve to ship and the Woodcraft near my house is pretty pricey. I can get the same kits and blanks cheaper from AS and CSUSA with minimal waiting for shipping
Sorry that was so long!

Jonathan

dubdrvrkev

A good step from there is a cigar pen I usually get mine from www.arizonasilhouette.com You'll here that refered to as BB (owner Bill Baumbeck) or AS. You could also try a El Grande ballpoint, I haven't done one of those but if its anything like the rollerball you have pretty thin walls on the wood when you're done.

its_virgil

Have you "beefed up" any slimlines or just turned them bushing to bushing. The slimline is the most versatile of any of the kit pens we make. I have a photo album with nothing but slimlines, but some don't look anything like slimnlines. Take a look if you're interested at