Tips for drilling on the lathe?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

geoffholden

I'm hoping that someone can give me some assistance with drilling on the lathe.
I have a Mastercraft 8x12 mini lathe (I think it's the same as the Harbor Freight one, but with a 1"-8tpi headstock).
I don't seem to have any trouble drilling with a 7mm bit, but the I constantly stall the lathe with bigger bits. I've tried starting with a smaller bit as a pilot hole, and that helps some, but I still stall it out.
I'm guessing that that because the lathe is variable speed, it just doesn't have the torque at low speed to remove that much material. But that's just my guess, and I'd like to be proven wrong.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

geoffholden

What speed are you drilling? Are your bits sharp? What material are you drilling?

I drill around 500 rpm, sharpen bits with drill doctor.

Sent from my iPhone using Penturners.org mobile app
I'm drilling at 750 rpm (as slow as the little lathe can go). Only drilling wood so far, stabilized burl most recently.
The bits seem to be sharp (brand new), but I don't have a drill doctor yet.
Last night I ended up finishing the holes with a hand drill, after getting them started straight on the lathe.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Skie_M

Using Harbor Freight Mini Wood Lathe 8x12 1/3HP ...

I pre-turn all my blanks round and chuck them in a 3-jaw chuck ... this step isn't required for this to work, it's just what I do.

I use the sharp end of a tool like a skew to make a center hole in the end of the spinning blank (or you can use a center drill).

I then start the bit slowly, feeding in 32ths intervals and immediately backing off 1/8th of a turn to avoid constant drag bogging down the motor ... this is done at minimum speed (750 RPMs). If the wood cuts easily, I take larger "bites" of the wood at a time.