Thoughts on this package?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Spin_Me

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PenMan1

Spin:
Sometimes price and value are not the same thing. I know several folks that have the TurnCrafter Commander and have been extremely dissapointed with it. That could be because they bought the first ones that were available. Additionally, this lathe was postponed several times before it was finally released. That is not usually a GOOD thing.

For just a few more dollars, you can upgrade to the Jet 1014VSI. I have been using the Jet for almost 4 years and have made THOUSANDS of pens with no issues at all. It is still going strong and even the belt is in great shape.

I would look hard at the jet and maybe try to save some money elsewhere other than the lathe. You don't want to be stuck with a lathe that doesn't meet your needs or is constantly waiting for repairs. The TurnCafter is new to the market and has not really proven to be a reliable workhorse, yet.

Either of these duplicators will work with the Jet and the price is a good bit less than the Vega duplicator. A friend has the first duplicator and it does fine for his uses (making chess pieces).

Last edited:

PenMan1

If money is a serious issue and you can't afford the $379 for the Jet, the little Ricon on sale at Woodcraft is a good little lathe for the money and is sale priced less than the PSI lathe.

Parson

I had a Turncrafter Commander on back order and cancelled it to buy a Jet 1014VS. I'm really glad I did too. My buddy's turncrafter lathe has not held up well after just two years of pen making. Lots of vibration and the tailstock doesn't line up to the headstock dead on.

Not all the Turncrafter lathes are bad though, and there are a lot of owners of them here on the IAP that have no complaints.