To those that produce pens for sale.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I am a rank beginner having only produced about 10 pens. These pens have been different styles.

So for you that make your pens fit perfect for sale, how do you do it? Using wood with friction polish and polished acrylics I find that bringing the work to the level of the bushing still leave some proud, necessitating pounding the pens apart and putting them back on the lathe to sand them lower than the bushing.

You guys can't do that with all the pens you make, do you? Do you just stick to two or three styles and just know through repeating the same ones what is needed? do you sand down the hardware and trial fit it then glue it in place?

I know with the CA coating I need to make the wood smaller than the bushing to allow for the finish, I'm not talking about that.

Frustrated in Florida

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Argo13

I second the calipers. It is the only way to be 100% sure of size. Make sure you have the right bushings for example wall street III vs a wall street II bushing would leave you proud. What kits are you using?

I have made many different pen kits but make only a few varieties routinely. Makes it easier on you to produce and on the customer who is trying to select a pen.

Try not to be too frustrated. Not having them come out perfect is common at first. Trying getting to a local turning club or maybe another IAP member is close to you.

Keep a pen or two from this group. You'll be amazed when you compare them to pens years from now.

Good luck in your journey
Jason

Sent from my iPad using Penturners.org mobile app

Timber Ripper

Hey Mike,
Calipers are a must for this hobby.. The Harbor Freight ones aren't bad for under $20.
As soon as I open a kits I will be working on, I compare the bushings to all parts that apply - cap, center band and nib. I then note any differences in size and compensate from there. Most of the time the bushings are right on.