Is there a "standard" kit(s)?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Souths1der

Hello everyone. I'm new to turning and this site. I've been doing it about a month now and have gotten progressively better over that time in large part due to the information from the IAP. For that I thank you all.

I bought a clearance box at Woodcraft that had 30 basic slimlines and 30 blanks for $30. The kits were OK and the wood was blah, but it was a cheap way to get in some learning and by the end I improved a lot. I also turned a few cigars that ended up pretty nice. I'll post pics once I get a proper setup. My question is: What types of kits are "standard" builds that I coudl just set aside and one day sell. With so many kits and my rookie status, I'd hate to buy a bulk of kits that typically don't sell or mistakenly spend on expensive kits when I shouldn't. I also don't want to just assume slimlines is the answer. But I'd like to buy a bunch at one time so I don't have to constantly be buying one-offs here as I start my journey.

Thanks again for all the help so far. Hopefully one day I'll be able to return the favor.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Welcome to the pen turning journey, Keith.

I don't sell pens, so I'm not going to try to offer any advice as to what types of kits you might consider for that purpose.

My overall suggestion would be to try a variety of Parker-style 1 & 2 tube pens (Cigar, Sierra, etc) and some Rollerball/Fountain Pen kits and see what you like best. You might start with some of the less expensive platings, then move up to the higher quality platings once you develop your skills to the point where you feel like you're ready to start selling. You will probably find that you like making certain kits and pen styles better than others - so much is a matter of personal taste and you can only figure this out by practicing.