Temporary Tattoos?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

John Pratt

Has anyone tried temporary tattoos instead of regular decals? I had a young lady bring me some temporary tattoos and tell me that she wanted them on a pen. I have done the decals (which I am far from being an expert at), but I haven't tried the tattoo thing. Thoughts?

John

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Drstrangefart

Seems like it would work. Although they are prone to being insanely fragile until they're down. I've done dry rub-on transfers and got really good results. If you're putting them on a wood pen, REMEMBER to do a few layers of CA first.

Trillium

Temporary tattoos...

John,

I am a tattoo artist, fishing rod builder and penturner.... amongst other more nefariuos things... and I have used the "water slide" temporary tattoos on a 12' surf rod. They worked fine with a few caveats.
First, they do not show well on anything other than a white background. So, painting the wood or using a very light colored wood would be pretty much mandatory.
Second, my experience with them on the rod was well before my penturning days.. I used "Flex Coat" ( a rod builders coating available through Merrick Tackle) as an obvious finish for a fishing rod. It should work fairly well on a pen with the exception of the need to turn it at around 18 rpm while drying... (yep... only 18 rpm)
The trick was to carefully smooth the flex coat over the sticker and remove the bubbles.... using Mohawk laquer seems like it would be a breeze!
Lou

Drstrangefart

First, they do not show well on anything other than a white background. So, painting the wood or using a very light colored wood would be pretty much mandatory.

Great point. I've used them on stop signs near my bus stop as a kid and encountered the same problem. Totally forgot about that.

wouldentu2?