Tell me about 'turning between centers'.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

lago

I am new to turning(have tried a few things) and totally new to pen turning. Have yet to turn the first pen but I want to try.

I have been reading a lot of the posts here and have come across TBC or 'turning between centers'. Somehow, I get the idea that the mandrel is not needed. At this time, I am about to order a mandrel and mandrel saver from PSI. FWIW, I have a Delta 12" lathe.

I have also seen references to a 60 deg live center. I checked the parts that came with the lathe, which my 'tool fairy' gave me(that's another story) and I think I have one. Don't have a dead center.

Anyhow, which is the best way to go? Do you use a mandrel TBC, how about bushings?

Just looking for more knowledge before I mess up the wood I have set aside for blanks.

Thanks
Lago

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
If you are new to turning, you will be unlikely to be successful at TBC. It takes better tool control and a lighter touch that is developed.

Start with a mandrel (the shorter the better for learning--short is harder to bend than long).

azamiryou

Just looking for more knowledge before I mess up the wood I have set aside for blanks.

Both ways work; there's no need to worry about making the "right" choice or you'll mess up your blanks.

TBC does solve some problems with mandrels, and you'll find many turners who have switched from mandrels to TBC. I've never heard of anyone switching the other way!

If you're going to switch to TBC in the end anyway, why waste money on a mandrel and mandrel bushings? One possible reason is because there are a lot more books, videos, and turners around that can show you how it's done. As for waste - I know I feel that I got my money's worth out of my mandrel with all the pens I made before I switched.