which supplier?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tbrock

Hey Everyone,

I am a newbie to your site and have been turning for about a yr now. What I was wondering, for your standard gold pen kits, who has the best quality? The kits I am looking at are the Slimlines, Cigar, European, Wall Street II, Hart and Navigator. I am looking at Woodcraft, Rockler, Craft Supply, Beria, Penn State, and Arizonia Silohouette. I have priced several kits from all the suppliers, and some are way cheaper priced than others, but I don't know about the quality of kits. How would you rate each of the suppliers I have listed.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ldb2000

Welcome to the group .
If you are buying the 24k gold kits , they are all pretty much the same . The plating will start to show signs of wear fairly quickly .
If you are buying the Ti Gold and other better platings , they are also pretty much the same but the platings will all last much longer .
Most of the vendors you mentioned sell either the Dayacom or Berrea kits packaged for them and they are the higher priced kits and much better quality then the Chinese kits that sell for a lower price like the funline kits from PSI and thier resellers and the apprentice kits from CSUSA .

Wildman

Woodcraft & Rockler sell Berea Hardwood kits, names may be different. Some stores also carry Penn State & Chinese kits too.

Arizona Silhouette is a reseller of Berea Hardwood Kits. May have better selection of wood pen blanks. I go directly to Berea for their kits, have nothing bad to say about AZ.

Penn State has several resellers, woodnwhimies.com, woodturningz.com just an example of two.

Berea Hardwoods, Crafts Supply provide a plating wear rating chart at websites and in their catalogs.

You can also check out other vendors in link section.

Daniel

As a rule of thumb there are only three companies that sell different kits.