Suggestions for drilling straight holes?.....

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

happycat

Hi. I'm pretty new to this but am loving it. I've been doing pretty well so far, but am not quite happy with my drilling technique yet. I'm using a wooden clamp with cut outs in the jaws for a jig. I have that sitting on a piece of scrap wood to prevent problems when the drill exits. I've squared up my table on the press, but I'm still getting blanks that are off center on the "exit end" of the hole.
Any suggestions? I'm curious to know how other people here handle the drilling.
Ed

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

marionquill

I had a terrible time with that issue when I first started - I was able to correct my problem by using a level:

1. On the base of the drill press, put the level on it to ensure the whole drill press is level, if not, use a shim until it is.

2. Put the level on the drill press table to ensure it is level. If not, use a shim under your blank vice until it is level.

3. Put a blank in the vice and put the level on top of the blank to once again ensure it is all level. Use shims under the blank vice until it is.

4. Drill your blank.

This works for me, no guarantee it will work for you but it drastically reduced the off-center holes I was making.

Good luck â€" let me know if that helped any…

Jason

wickford

I've had the same problem and switched to drilling my blanks on the lathe (i guess it would be called boring horizontally?) with a 4 jaw chuck. My results have been much better this way...

Good luck!

mwenman

how far out of center on the bottom side are you?