Strange Dent in Finished Jr. Gent

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Alex D

I made a Jr. Gent out of Kauri for a co-worker as a Christmas present this last month and I saw it again today. There is a dent or depression about 1/16 wide that goes all the way around the cap just above the coupler.

I'm pretty new to this, but I've done a lot or reading and searching and I haven't seen any reference to something like this.

The tubes were glued in with epoxy and the pen was finished with WTF.

Is this a known rookie mistake, or is somethine more sinister going here?
He is going to bring it in again on Monday so I can take a picture to post here to give everyone here a better idea of what is going on.

Thanks!
Alex

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Alex D

Thanks for the ideas, I'm going to get a real close look Monday, but the clip could indeed be the problem.

In the meantime, any thoughts on a repair? Would steam be an option through the finish or will the finish need to be stripped for steam to work?

Thanks!

Alex

plano_harry

To get the best results, you are probably going to have to pop the hardware off and sand/refinish. If the depression doesn't line up with the clip, you do have a unique problem. We will deal with that when you post the pics.

Harry

1080Wayne

Not sure what the components of WTF are , but in my limited experience any finish will interfere with the steam trick . It might be worth a try to sand through the finish everywhere except the dent , then try the steam . Whether or not it works is probably dependent upon the amount of exposed end grain near the dent .

You didn`t mention if the cap assembly was an easy press fit (by hand or nearly so) or a hard one . Red flags should go up if you can press one in by hand . The wedging action created by the clip each time it is put in a pocket will soon loosen a clip . I find red Loctite is the best solution . On the other hand , if assembly was hard , you just didn`t press the finial fully in .