Strait Dope on Nibs...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

rwbirt02

Hello to all,

I am new to penturning and am still in the process of researching all information pertaining to turning pens. I am interested in specializing with fountain pens, and want to target a higher end market...I understand that I will of course need to cater to a lower end market as well to make enough money to justify the time I will be spending with this new craft, but at the time have an immediate demand for a pen that is sellable to a corperate market that has some money to spend of their beautifully hand crafted pens.

So in this regard...I am trying to find out the strait dope on nibs. I have been searching through previous posts to try to gain a better understanding of the different sizes, materials, makers, and varying quality from one nib to another...but am still mystified as to what is the best material that a nib is made out of in a "pen kit". I am going to be selling pens in the $150-$500 range off the bat and want to know what is the best nib that is avaliable to me for my pens.

Any previous posts, links, or other pertinent information is greatly appreciated.

Johnathan

Before things get too carried away make sure you know enough to offer the best product you can. Also, if you can sell a pen make sure you know how to fix a pen. Problems happen and people will trust that you can make their pens as good as new. I would take some time practicing for a bit. Good luck![8D]

mrcook4570

Originally posted by rwbirt02
...but am still mystified as to what is the best material that a nib is made out of in a "pen kit". I am going to be selling pens in the $150-$500 range off the bat and want to know what is the best nib that is avaliable to me for my pens.