Storage And Organization

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dbarbee

While I have been an avid woodworker for sometime, I am a newbie at pen turning. To start out I bought a 30 pack variety of slimline pen kits to get my feet wet. I'm starting to feel more and more comfortable and I'm going to order several bundles from Penn State this week. I'm going to have about 15 different style pens kits. That means I'm going to have a ton of different bushings and accessories to keep up with. I'm curious how some of you pro's organize and store you kits, bushing, refills, etc. I would also love to see some pics.

I would also like to thank Wayne Racinowski for his work on the Pen Kit Bushing and Tubes document available on this site. I can see this being an invaluable tool in the future.

Thanks...

David B.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

randyrls

1080Wayne

Bushings can be stored on nails on a board , in old 35 mm film canisters , on curtain hanger rings and probably a thousand more systems . Only important thing is that you don`t mix them up !

Give some thought to whether you really want 15 different styles . It is possible to overwhelm people with too much choice .

RDH79

Yea I wouldnt go hog wild on all those different styles. I did that at first and now I have bushings for pens that I know I will never make again. Now I only use Johnnycnc's between center bushings. Stick with a couple at first . Then if you dont like them get a couple more.

aggromere

I've tried all sorts of things. When I first started I made a peg board to hold bushings. They would get knocked off or what ever but it didn't work for me.