Is this stone(granite?) usable?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

CoastalRyan

I have zero experience with stone...cutting, drilling etc. Is this stuff usable? Is there a market for it? I have access to hundreds of pieces like this. All shapes, sizes and colors. Basically its just scrap from a company that makes custom countertops and stuff. Thoughts?

For scale the very top piece is 1.25'' x 1.25'' x 10'' long. Almost all pieces are at least an inch thick.

Rp1oEBZl.jpg

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

CREID

I was just talking to someone that owns a bakery I go to every once in a while and he was telling me that he knows someone (very well off) that does make pens occasionally from stone but I believe mostly other stuff. But!!! He has special equipment to cut and drill the stone and special equipment to turn the stone. If you are really interested I would find a rock shop locally and ask them what it would take. One thing he did tell me was that not only were they heavy, but since the amount of stone left after turning was very little, they were very prone to breaking when dropped.

CoastalRyan

I was just talking to someone that owns a bakery I go to every once in a while and he was telling me that he knows someone (very well off) that does make pens occasionally from stone but I believe mostly other stuff. But!!! He has special equipment to cut and drill the stone and special equipment to turn the stone. If you are really interested I would find a rock shop locally and ask them what it would take. One thing he did tell me was that not only were they heavy, but since the amount of stone left after turning was very little, they were very prone to breaking when dropped.
I was thinking that it might be prone to breakage once drilled. I could see where this might work better for something like bottle stoppers...where you have a little more meat on the bone.

TonyL