Sterling silver life span

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

vakmere

I would like to buy a sterling silver Sedona kit to match up with a particular poly clay blank however I dont know much about the metal. Is it plated, real sterling, will it tarnish, what is the wear and tear factor on this, or is it just for looks?
Any help would be appreciated. It will be a sale item so I want it to have no finish issues if the owner uses it every day. I know it says a little sanding and CA as a finish but how much of each, will the ends need to be squared, etc. If a video exists that would be a plus. I have zero experience with this polyclay. Im a little nervous about the attempt but got thru other firsts so why not this?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Smitty37

Passed Away Mar 29, 2018
In Memoriam
I would like to buy a sterling silver Sedona kit to match up with a particular poly clay blank however I dont know much about the metal. Is it plated, real sterling, will it tarnish, what is the wear and tear factor on this, or is it just for looks?
Any help would be appreciated. It will be a sale item so I want it to have no finish issues if the owner uses it every day. I know it says a little sanding and CA as a finish but how much of each, will the ends need to be squared, etc. If a video exists that would be a plus. I have zero experience with this polyclay. Im a little nervous about the attempt but got thru other firsts so why not this?
Sterling Silver is a specificc silver alloy and will exhibit all of the pros and cons of 'silver'. It usually has a clear epoxy coating over it which will slow down tarnish but it will tarnish just as Sterling Silver place settings will. It is quite bright - brighter in fact than Rhodium or platinum. It is a little pricy but that is just due to scarcity rather than costs. Given a choice I would go with Rhodium rather than Sterling Silver. My personal opinion is that it is sort of a marketing gimic.

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022