Steady rest for madrel?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

JimGo

Okay, as you can see from the number of posts I've done, I'm still fairly new here. I am also new to wood turning. In fact, I only got to make a whopping two whole rosewood slimline pens before my old lathe died on me (pics are in my album). I bought a new TurnCrafter Pro from PSI last weekend (they have a neat storefront, BTW, if you're ever in the Philly area), and I hope to be able to take it outside and play this weekend (living in an apartment makes woodworking difficult). On my last lathe, I had several different problems, including a LOT of blow-outs in my first set of pen blanks. I think this is due to not scuffing up the brass tubes before I glued them into the blanks, which resulted in bad glue jobs. The poor glue job may be the cause of the other big issue I noticed: there was some chatter on some of the blanks as I turned them.

I am not sure if the chatter is there because the old lathe didn't really let me get the rest up close enough to keep the tool from wiggling, because of the bad glue, or because the mandrel was long enough to experience a bit of whipping. I hope not to have these problems with the new lathe (rest is much shorter, so I can get closer, and the lathe is MUCH better quality), but if I do, I was considering trying a steady rest. Does anyone think there is any advantage to using a steady rest in conjunction with the mandrel, or is that just overkill?

Any feedback is appreciated!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fred in NC

A few tips about chatter:

Sharp tools.
Square the ends of the tubed blanks.
This can cause a bowed mandrel.

Make sure the mandrel is straight.

A bowed mandrel will cause chatter and
out of round barrels. Make sure you:
Don't overtightent the mandrel nut.
Don't overtighten the tailstock.

Steady rest? not with a steel shaft mounted
on the lathe. The above should take care
of your problems.