Stabilized Blank Shrinkage

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
This is a stabilized box elder blank that I turned last fall. Wifey grabbed it that very night..it matched her blouse :confused:.

You can ignore the dull finish as it is true to form... Noobs start with wax finishes that last...oh 12 minutes!

However. The fittings were good when done! Now 3 of 4 have shrunk back noticably...

Enlighten me Master Obe Wan. :alien:

Attachments

• IMG_0476.jpg
    IMG_0476.jpg
    118.3 KB · Views: 174
  • IMG_0479.jpg
    IMG_0479.jpg
    187.6 KB · Views: 198
Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
This was a purchased blank... suspecting PSI/Berea/ or CSUSA.. Please note - NO issue with the vendor - I'm JUST LEARNING!!!

Let's see... Work on the tube length.. Yup, That might work; especially since I want to redo the finish so it will look better within... 12 minutes!

Originally, the blanks looked awesome, so this is a "save me..." project! :)

BUT: Why the shrinkage???

Last edited:

MesquiteMan

Retired Head Moderator
If it is truly shrinkage and not parts that have backed out as suggested above, then my opinion is the stabilizing was not done using the best practices. There are a LOT of variations in stabilizing practices. My guess was the wood was not 100% dry before it was stabilized.

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
If it is truly shrinkage and not parts that have backed out as suggested above, then my opinion is the stabilizing was not done using the best practices. There are a LOT of variations in stabilizing practices. My guess was the wood was not 100% dry before it was stabilized.

OK. No problem with the possible issue... Then, how to ovoid in the future. CA Finish/other finish/other avenues... ? Just asking! (different vendor... shss...I didn't say that)..

Thanks for the advice!!!:cowboy:

jcm71