Is Stabilization Needed?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

faas

I'm very new to penturning and am still trying to learn the ins and outs. I've been turning duck calls for about a year and know the importance of stabilizing softer woods for that application. I was wondering if it is necessary for most pen uses? Obviously something that is extremely soft or punky will need to be stabilized, but is it a common practice for all softer woods? For example, would I need to stabilize a very solid piece of cedar heartwood? What is the risk with not stabilizing?

Thanks for any help and discussion!

KenV

There are a wide range of "cedar" species -- some of which are not cedars.

Presuming you are talking about eastern red cedar (Juniper) - not necessary, but some might do it.

faas

There are a wide range of "cedar" species -- some of which are not cedars.

Presuming you are talking about eastern red cedar (Juniper) - not necessary, but some might do it.

Yeah, sorry for the vague description for the example. I can find out what it is for sure. I have a source to get a lot of cedar, pecan, paduak, hickory, etc "scraps" that I can use for blanks. I was rummaging around in the throw away pile yesterday and found some very figured cedar. Not sure which it is right now.

I assume that using a CA finish will alleviate some of the need to stabilize since you are covering the wood with a hard exterior?

robertkulp

I like to use cedar, but being a soft wood, it is very easy to get carried away and turn too much away. I have begun stabilizing my cedar (TN Red Cedar / Juniper), with Cactus Juice, not because they really need it, but because I think it just turns better. Plus, since cedar is fairly light, it adds some weight so it feels a little better balanced, especially for pens with heavy hardware.

This is just my personal preference and is in no way an actual recommendation.