stabalized blank

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gwisher

I know this is probably covered somewhere but what exactly is the difference from a stabalized blank from one that is not? Does it affect the quality of the pen? And if in fact it does make a big difference how do you stabalize it?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

erebus

It does make a slight difference in the wood. Most of the pieces I've had stabalized that I can compare to other original pieces are just a slight bit darker, which we get from finishing anyway. Also the stabilizing material in the wood pretty much precludes the need for ever needing to seal the wood(it's already done) and it takes a slightly higher shine.

just my .02
E

gwisher

ok so what is the process in stabalizing the wood? Also you had mentioned sealing it. Isn't that finnishing? As you can tell I am new to this.

ok so what is the process in stabalizing the wood? Also you had mentioned sealing it. Isn't that finnishing? As you can tell I am new to this.

The stabilization usually involves soaking the wood, under pressure/vacuum in a wood hardener or some sort of plastic solution... lots of turners do it themselves, if they have the equipment, i.e., vacuum pump, compressor and pressure pot... I don't so I have to either send it out to be stabilized or just buy already stabilized blanks...I usually go for the commercially stabilized blanks from what ever supplier I am using.

The stabilization process that is done commercially makes the wood blanks almost a plastic type of material... if the wood is punky or soft and crumbly, it is almost always necessary to stabilize... punky wood can also be stabilized somewhat by soaking with water thin CA...

rjwolfe3

To me professionally stabilized blanks are so much easier to turn and they finish beautifully. They cost a lot more then non stabilized but in my opinion it is worth it.

leehljp

Member Liaison