Squaring Pen Blanks - Disc Sander

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cnirenberg

John,
Nice tutorial. The really cool thing about all of this is there a many ways of getting to the final result. This is a good example. Great job, and thanks for taking the time to put this together.

Wheaties

Good tutorial. I have been doing this for a while now and it works so much better for me than the pen mill. The only difference is I made my own squaring jig out of a scrap 2x2 piece of oak and an old mandrel (now that I TBC). I didn't realize PSI sold something like that

fernhills

Yes, i chucked my pen mill in the trash after about a week of trying to use the thing. Been using the disc sander ever since. Never experienced unsquare blanks or all the big discussions about c/a chip out and all that, after making hundreds of pens. Carl

JakeAB

I'm still kind of new at this, so pardon me if this is less than a brilliant question.

I've been using Rick Herrell's (rherrell) sanding jig to square blanks, with good results. It's simplicity itself, with no setup, engineering squares, or half a dozen ways the jig and sander supports can be out of square. How is the belt/disc sander jig better?

No criticism intended (great tutorial), just a question. If the belt/disc sander jig is a better way, I'll definitely want to invest the time to make one, or the money to buy the PSI.

Wheaties

I'm still kind of new at this, so pardon me if this is less than a brilliant question.

I've been using Rick Herrell's (rherrell) sanding jig to square blanks, with good results. It's simplicity itself, with no setup, engineering squares, or half a dozen ways the jig and sander supports can be out of square. How is the belt/disc sander jig better?

No criticism intended (great tutorial), just a question. If the belt/disc sander jig is a better way, I'll definitely want to invest the time to make one, or the money to buy the PSI.

What is Rick's way?

JakeAB