Splitting Tips ????

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JWS Penworks

Hey all,

Anyone ever have a problem with the tip of your Slimline pens splitting when you insert the tip? I used two different kits yesterday (had to make 20 pens) and I had no problems with the one kit but, a couple of the pens from the other kits split when I inserted the tip. Now, granted, I am still a little new to this, but I didn't do anything different and the only ones that split were from the same company. I used the bushing set that was made for each set. It seemed to me that the fit of the tip in the 7mm tube was not as good on the one kit as the other. I did both kits the same. Anyone else have this problem?

Thanks!
John

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jkeithrussell

What material are you using (wood, acrylic, etc.)?
How are you inserting the tips (hand clamps, pen press, arbor press, etc.)?

purplehaze

cracking

I have had the same problem here, but I am new to this and figured I was doing something wrong. I ordered a starter kit from PSI and had no problems with any of the slim line kits. I then ordered their sampler kit and the pens were cracking when I try and assemble them. So I searched this forum and read posts about possible fixes. Well I bought a small round file to clean out any glue, started to chamfer the tubes before assembling and have resorted to sanding some of the plating off the parts. All that stuff works (most of the time) but I am going to invest in a caliper to see if the plating is too thick. I am a bit frustrated when I purchase a product and have to modify it (sanding the plating off) to get it to work. Disassembling pens and refinishing them due to cracks is not how I want to spend my time.
A couple of things I have yet to try: a brass gun barrel brush to remove glue from the tubes, using Gorilla glue and plugging the tubes with clay before gluing.