Spalting Chamber

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rblakemore

OK, a new sub-forum may be needed for spalting.
I am working on a pressure chamber and a vacuum chamber.
And ...
a spalting chamber. I was considering using a black tub that I fill from my composting bin. But, my wife suggested putting the wood in the composting bin directly. So, here are some pictures of my spalting chamber:
1. The compost bin, it is in the east sun, so will be hot; but, not scorching.
2. Inside the bin, not the prettiest pictures; but, it shows that I have good compost / spalt start. But, I am also a biologist by training, so this works for me.
3. A view of a piece of heavily spalted pear (from Hurricane Ike in 2008) with a mushroom pad that I broke off added to the compost. I also added some smelly organic fertilizer for good luck.
4., 5. Two view of the maple that I am using for this experiment. The first shows that this side does not have any spalting. The second is the reverse side and there is a little spalting from the rest of the tree.
6. The wood in the compost bin, we will see what happens.

Attachments

• IMG_0114_compressed.jpg
    IMG_0114_compressed.jpg
    40.8 KB · Views: 135
  • IMG_0115_compressed.jpg
    IMG_0115_compressed.jpg
    57.7 KB · Views: 251
  • IMG_0117_compressed.jpg
    IMG_0117_compressed.jpg
    79.5 KB · Views: 208
  • IMG_0118_compressed.jpg
    IMG_0118_compressed.jpg
    46.3 KB · Views: 248
  • IMG_0119_compressed.jpg
    IMG_0119_compressed.jpg
    77.4 KB · Views: 179
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

toddlajoie