Source for white "quartz-look" AA blanks?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimMc7

I use a lot of the Invisavue white blanks but would like to find an acrylic acetate blank with the same look. For whatever reason, AA is a lot easier to turn for me than Invisavue even with tools straight from sharpening. Woodcraft has the color I'm looking for in their "Opal" blank but it's a "swirl" rather than "quartz" look.

Newbie here so forgive me if I have the terms wrong!

Thanks in advance for any help!

Invisavue can be seen here:
http://arizonasilhouette.net/Berea Invisavue Pen Blanks.htm

Woodcraft's Opal can be seen here:
http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2020297/21327/Acrylic-Pen-Blank--Opal.aspx

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ldb2000

Here's a link to a white crushed pearl blank http://www.pennstateind.com/store/CPR08.html , I think this is what you are looking for in pattern but not sure about the chemistry .
Just wondering , what are you using to turn the invisavue blanks with ? I found them to be about the same as PR blanks , they turn very nicely with sharp tools and a light touch . I bring them down to size with a small gouge or my Hunter #3 then finish them with my skew .

JimMc7

Thanks, Butch -- I'll give those a try -- I believe those are what I'm looking for!

I use a roughing gouge until about 1/4" from bushings then a skew. I always use a skew with what in my "newbiness" I think is a "scraping" cut -- tool into the blank near the center line. This technique works great for me with PR, AA and wood blanks but not so well with the UA/Invisavue blanks. Looks like the UA is melting sometimes. I do have the best results when I've just sharpened the skew but edge doesn't seem to last very long (I've tried Thompson, Crown PM, Hamlet/Lacer and a 20+ year old Bahco skew). I use a Tormek to sharpen but I don't know enough to claim I'm getting a super sharp edge (although works for the other materials).