solid headstock dead center?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

atbinkowski

Hello! I'm new to pen turning and have made a few using a mandrel but wanted to try TBC. The issue I have is the headstock on my lathe is solid, no MT. I've been searching for a few days now to find any information or product for a thread on dead center with no avail. Am I just out of luck and need to consider a new lathe if I want to pursue TBC (not so much up to having mine machined to take a MT right now..)?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Tony

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KBs Pensnmore

Hello! I'm new to pen turning and have made a few using a mandrel but wanted to try TBC. The issue I have is the headstock on my lathe is solid, no MT. I've been searching for a few days now to find any information or product for a thread on dead center with no avail. Am I just out of luck and need to consider a new lathe if I want to pursue TBC (not so much up to having mine machined to take a MT right now..)?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Tony

Hi Tony, Welcome to the forum. Any chance of a picture of the headstock, what make is your lathe?
It's always best to submit this information, where possible, as answers can be directed to the ones with this lathe/problem.
I ask, as someone with that model lathe, could chime in with what they'd done to get around the problem.
Is the shaft on the headstock threaded? Do you know what size thread it is? If so you could get a nut made with the dead centre machined on it.
Kryn

atbinkowski

Thank you! I've been learning quite here. I believe it is a sears model (or similar), but there is no identification on it that I've been able to find. It is an older model, probably a few decades older. The headstock is 3/4" x16TPI.

Kryn - that's an interesting thought. I'll have to see if my neighbor can help me out with that one (he works at a metal supply/machine shop).

atbinkowski