So many shapes!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

talbot

I'm very new to pen turning and have only attempted a few slimline pens so far.
It will be a long time before Im turning pens of the quality seen on this forum every day and by so many accomplished members.
Im still also very confused by the variety of shapes, types , models etc of pens and pencils and would like to know if there is a chart available on line that shows all the shapes and design names dimensions etc.
I have tried to find one but havent been able to.
Regards, talbot

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

doddman70

First let me say welcome!!! this is a great place to come and learn. as far as a chart that shows all the different kits and such I don’t think there is one. there is a chart in the library that gives kit names along with drill bit size and bushing info. as far as seeing the different kits I think the best thing to do is go to the different supplier web sites and you can see everything that is out there. not all the suppliers sell the same thing some of them have exclusives on certain kits that you can only get from them so it is important to check them all out. good luck and have fun!!:D:)[8D]

Gordon

Hi - I understand your situation - been there - and I'm still there - in a lot of things.

It can be overwhelming and confusing - what kinda worked for me was to intially concentrate on Craft Supply CSUSA as my primary pen kit supplier and tried a variety of their kits before expanding into other supplier kits.

This a great forum - with some clever and skilled craftsmen - you may be surprised at the variety of pens that can be produced from just a single kit such as slimline.

Again - welcome and good luck

Gordon

rherrell