"signing" your pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jim Smith

I finally put some pens in my daughter-in-laws salon and sold one almost immediately. This was my first sale (I'm very new at this). Anyway, the customer wanted to know if I "signed" my work and if I did could she bring it back and could I sign the piece she purchased. This is not something I had considered, but I wanted to ask the experienced pen turners here. Do any of you put a unique mark/signature on your pens to act as an identifier that it is your work? Your thoughts...

Thanks

Jim Smith

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alphageek

Former Moderator
This has been discussed here. I don't think anyone has figured out a way to do that like most do with bowls, etc.. I think a common thing is to make up a card about the pen (material, kit, plating).. Then sign that to go with the pen.

arjudy

Kirk Deheer at CSUSA signs his work under the clip with a small engraving tool. I saw him demonstrate this before at one to the Woodworking Shows that CSUSA regularly attends.

Skye

a common thing is to make up a card about the pen

I'd go that route and number the pen on the card. You can also take a pic of the pen and keep it with the file named the pen number. It'll be obvious it's yours. It's basic, but it'll work.

S

spiritwoodturner

I really don't see how one could burn a signature on a pen, no matter how fine you ground the tip down. I have a MasterCarver unit that has a burner and a separate high-speed engraver/carver, but I don't think I'll be signing under the clip in the near future. I mean, what's the point? If it's completely under the clip, no one will see it, and if it spilled over on both sides, I would find that a distraction, personally. Almost a scar. Dirt and oils would also backfill it, and I don't think that would be attractive.