Shell Casing pen info

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

its_virgil

Hello guys and gals.
I have been making pens using rifle brass shell casings for almost two years now. I did not like the brass tarnshing so I began to powdercoat the metal parts with clear powdercoating to keep them nice and shinny. I have recently come upon some information where some shell casing pens are tarnishing and discoloring the light woods or antler where the two materials meet at the CB area. I checked one of the very first cartridge/antler pens I made and it has some discoloration. Ever had cheap gold turn you skin green? This is what the brass is doing...tarnishing and turning the lighter woods and antler green. I would suggest that the brass and the other material...antler or wood...be sealed to prevent the tarnishing and discoloring. Powdercoating has worked for me. CA can be used to seal the antler or wood. Actually I finish all of my pens with CA...wood and antler. Possibly lacquer could be sprayed onto the brass to seal and prevent the tarnishing. Maybe just the antler or wood could be sealed with CA or lacquer and the problem would be solved. I can't answer what should be done; each of you making these pens should experiment and find a way to seal and solve this potential problem. Thanks Eagle for the heads up.
Do a good turn daily!
Don

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Brent

Thanks Don for the information, I am going to buy a powder coater form HF. The spare cash can just about has enough in it. I hope they will put it on sale soon

Rifleman1776