Sharpining

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

tomy2

Ok...here is a can of worms I would like to open. What are some of the methods you guys use to sharpen your turning tools? Now remember I am new to this so.........heheheh thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

txbob

I use a 1" x 31" belt sander with a 100 grit blue belt made for grinding metal. Then I hone by hand on a fine diamond plate, a super-fine diamond plate, and a white super-fine ceramic stone. Between grindings I touch up 5 or 6 times on the ceramic stone. If I want really sharp I'll strop on leather to polish the edge.
Happy turning,
Bob S.

Doghouse

Variable speed grinder 8" and a wolverine jig.

Quick easy and accurate. Just try this cover the bevel with black permanent marker, then touch the tool to the wheel and turn the wheel by hand. it will scrape off some of the marker. If the scrape only covers the tip, you have too much angle. If it only scrapes the ink off the bottom too little angle. If the scrape runs the full length, you have it set up correctly. 2 quick passes and you are sharp again.

fmunday

Originally posted by tomy2
<br />Ok...here is a can of worms I would like to open. What are some of the methods you guys use to sharpen your turning tools? Now remember I am new to this so.........heheheh thanks!