Sharpening Tools

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JBCustomPens

Hi everyone,

I need to sharpen my tools up better than I have been and I am by no means an expert. I have currently HSS tools, I don't think I can get carbide right now. But, I have access to a bench grinder and a belt sander. Does anyone have any tips for me on sharpen tools without jigs? Thanks in advance!:)

Also, how sharp should a tool be when it is really sharp? Do you have an analogy?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
Did you ever see that episode of New Yankee Workshop where Norm sliced a sheet of paper sideways with a chisel? That was sharp!!!:eek:
I reckon you could cut yourself just looking at it!!:biggrin:

chrisk

+1 on slicing a sheet of paper. For real. While I never saw the New Yankee Workshop, I'm doing this even with my gouges. I'm using the Tormek grinder and sharpen all my tools on the leather wheel.
Same result with a leather strop but it's a longer process.

low_48

I would suggest that you get an 80 grit aluminum oxide wheel on your grinder. Then if you can look at a Wolverine sharpening system for the grinder, make your own from wood. The only thing that you will probably not be able to simply duplicate is the Vari-grind holder for finger nail profiles on your gouges. Scrapers can be sharpened on any rest on grinder, or just a wood platform in front of the wheel. Here's a good link on "rolling your own"; http://aroundthewoods.com/sharp.shtml

RAdams

Banned