Sharp edge between nib & barrel question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ossaguy

Hi All,

I'm just starting out,and have made only a couple Slimlines that I have used the BLO/CA finish on,and I was looking for tips on how to end up with a seamless transition between the nib and the finished body? It's all fine unitil the CA is built up,and if I do too much sandling to bring it down,there are places that it looks like it goes thru the CA,into the wood.

I was previously using the Hut Crystal Coat,and that doesn't add almost anything to it,so those ones all had a nice smooth transition there.

I'm guessing that I have to go a little below the bushing,then apply the CA,but is there a general rule on how far that is,or a slick tip you can give on how you all do it? I'm using a mandrel setup.I hate to go too low since it seems that I pick up the metal from the bushing in the wood.

I've tried carefully sandling the edge after it's off the mandrel,but I'm afraid of going to far and ruining it so I guess I don't go far enough and it bugs my to have the "step" there.

I want to improve in my penmaking,so I thought I'd ask the experts here.I'm amazed at the quality of work you all are posting pics of.

Thanks for any tips!

Steve

San Diego

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Len Shreck

I am a "newbie" also and had the same problem. What I started doing is taking some quad 0 (0000) steel wool and rubbing it around the ends a little to take the edge off its not perfect but I think it makes a difference and from what I see it hasn't messed up the finish. I bought mine at Walmart for like 4.00 I think for a whole pack of them. try it and then check it and if needed do it some more. Hope it helps. Len Keep me updated.

workinforwood