Shaping of the Pen Body

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rodtod11

I am new at this, and have done a number of pens with fairly straight side. I was wondering about the technique for a more complex shape. For example , the Virage pen on exoticblanks.com The shape has a number of curves. Is this done "Freehand". Just trying to learn.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

healeydays

It is mostly done freehand.

If I might suggest is head out into the back yard and pick up a couple pieces of wood lying around and practice on that piece of material that you don't care about till you feel comfortable with making whatever design you want.

I have also seen others make templates of the design they want and measure it against what they have on the lathe.

Mike B

kovalcik

I do my shaping freehand also. That is one of the things I like best about turning. You can let the wood speak to you and just go with whatever looks and feels good. (wow, that sounded much more Zen than I intended.)

Mike had a great suggestion about getting some branches and practice. Make lots of shaivngs and the skills will come.

Dan Masshardt

To my taste, for most pens, a straight pen is a good pen. Including the virage. There are some exceptions - cigar and slimline.

There is no objective right or wrong to the shape. The only 'sin' is to have those ends proud (or under-turned).

Jim Burr

Banned
All freehand, but there are some No-no's!!! My pet peeve is the "Fatlady" slimline. If you want a fatter pen, convert the kit or buy a kit made for wider sizes!!!
Ok...rant done.
Mike has a great point...don't practice on a $12 blank...or $5 for that matter. That isn't to say things never go wrong with those...but there is usually some kind of plan forming about how you want it to look the more it costs. And sometimes even that goes haywire!

rodtod11