Setting up a new shop...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

allen_m

This question started off in introductions... please, pardon the re-post; but,

First, let me say I have never used a lathe or made a pen in my life. I have USED many pens! :) I am handy with tools; having restored a few vintage motorcycles; but, otherwise a complete newbie.

Specifically, I would like to learn to make fountain pens, including pen bodies made from aluminum, as well as closed end pens with threads cut directly in the cap and body material…

As such, I have chosen a lathe I feel may be suitable, the HiTorque 7x12 from LittleMachineShop.com… http://littlemachineshop.com/4100 (It is a variant of the SIEG SC2)

This lathe cuts threads down to 4 tpi which I am guessing may be helpful… Not sure if it is possible on this equipment; but, I'd like to eventually be able to cut multi-lead threads, too. Being full of motorcycles, the shop has definite space limitations; so, bigger may not be better for me; moreover, as a newbie, I don't want to go too crazy in terms of spending until I verify that I have the knack for actually doing this type of work.

Surely, I would learn on a large variety of materials without attempting the more difficult materials first. I am a bit impatient; but, have a lot of time on my hands.

Not knowing much about all of this, I would be grateful if anyone would be willing to share their expertise…

First, Is this a suitable choice for a lathe? If not, what alternative would be more suitable? When turning wood (or acrylic, etc…) on a metal lathe, do you replace the tool post with a rest for hand tools?

What is the best available guide for learning? I have seen numerous DVD's etc.

TIA,

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Do you have a few years to learn?

Having a a lathe does not make you a machinist, knowing the difference between a Motorcycle and a Fountain Pen is very helpfull.

Keep on going. It only takes a few years.

Norbert

Kent Lake Pens & Pencils