In search of the Thin kerf

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

AceMrFixIt

I was looking to see how to get a thinner kerf. The right one is done on the band saw, the left is on the scroll saw. Of course I had to make yet another jig.......What do ya think??

Attachments

• xtrathinkerf.JPG
    xtrathinkerf.JPG
    35.1 KB · Views: 357
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

marcruby

You might also try getting some square aluminum big enough to make a mini-miter box with whatever angle cut you might want and then use it with a find handsaw. If seen some made up for jewelry that have stops built into them for repeatability.

Marc

chuybregts

I like the thinner one personally, do you happen to have a photo of the jig for the scroll saw? I'm still learning to use that beast as well!

Chris

workinforwood

If you really want a thin kerf, try a piercing saw with a .0095" x 61 TPI blade. Available at many jewelry supply stores.

Can't say I know what .0095 is ..sounds pretty small. I have 8/0 blades for my scroll saw..those are jewelry blades. You have to really slack back the tension because these babies are so thin and small I need to use a magnifier to see what direction the teeth go. It's like looking at a post it note on edge. Flying Dutchmen makes them. Contact Mike...http://www.mikesworkshop.com/blades.htm Excellent and fast service! He might even have smaller blades than that, and I believe he sells the drill bits in those same sizes...good luck not breaking or losing those!

As for the knot..I like the wider one. I don't like it really really wide, but 1/16 is pretty good. Part of the romance of the knot is the wide curves that give it an illusionary effect that becomes lost the thinner you go.

jttheclockman