Score!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Titanium15

I am new to turning in general, and pen turning is even newer to me. I tried to buy a lathe from Rockler, had so much trouble with the lathe and the customer service I returned the lathe and almost gave up.

I did buy another lathe, and am starting to learn. I have made two pencils, and one pen so far. The main reason I wanted a lathe was to make handles for the fishing rods I build. I wanted to make handles other than the ones I can buy from the suppliers. Pen turning is a wonderful addition to the fishing rod building.

With pen turning, one of the things I have been having trouble with is finding wood to make the pens. I see a deal on this site, when I am at work, and by the time I get home and see if I can purchase the blanks, they are sold. And, as this is an AMA project, As Money Allows, I do not have a ton of money to spend on blanks. What do you think, did I do OK or did I wast $6.00?
Stephen

On Friday I stopped at the Habitat for Humanity re-store in town. I found two pieces of mahogany, 3/4 square with a small notch in one corner. They were 10 feet 6 inches long. The cost for them was $0.25 per foot, or just under $6.00 total. I ended up with 47 blanks, when I cut them into 5 inch lengths. Not to bad, I hope.

Attachments

• S6000860.jpg
    S6000860.jpg
    213.8 KB · Views: 262
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

t001xa22